Mercy Hospital & Health Services Contact Us
About Mercy
Join Our Team
set font size large set font size medium set font size small
email this page print this page
News Articles Banner

Mercy in the News

Mercy Tiffin Foundation Honors Donors

4/24/2014 12:00:00 AM  --Mercy
Tiffin, OH - The Mercy Tiffin Foundation honored donors for their generosity to the hospital and Foundation on Tuesday, April 12, 2014 at the annual Donor Appreciation Celebration.
“It was a pleasure for us to have the opportunity to recognize those whose contributions are so important to our hospital,” said Lynn Detterman, Mercy rural division president & CEO. “Donated funds are more important than ever today and we are fortunate to have generous and caring donors who value quality healthcare in Tiffin and Seneca County.”
Hors d’ouevres and refreshments were provided by Mercy Tiffin’s chef Mike McClellan and the nutritional services staff, as well as The Pioneer Mill of Tiffin.
Bernie Steinmetz, Manager of Development, Donor Relations, and Volunteers, served as MC for the event and welcomed guests. Rich Traunero, vice chair of the Mercy Tiffin Foundation Board of Trustees, thanked those in attendance on behalf of the Board.
“I, like my fellow Foundation Board members, am very pleased to serve on the Mercy Tiffin Foundation Board,” he said. “When the Foundation was started in 1985, community leaders such as Dr. Walter Daniel and Tom Eberly, had a vision. That vision was to sustain the Mission set forth by the Sisters of Mercy when they founded the hospital in the early 1900s… a vision to insure that Mercy Tiffin Hospital would remain financially strong, thus insuring that healthcare in our community would remain strong. Our board members are committed to this Mission and committed to you, your family, your friends and your neighbors to insure that Mercy Tiffin will remain an important part of this community.”
Lynn and Bernie presented Dale Thornton with the 2014 Mother Mary Bernardine McMullen Leadership Award. This award was established in the spirit of Mother Mary Bernardine McMullen who demonstrated admirable leadership skills with the establishment of Mercy Tiffin Hospital in 1913.
Marsha Danhoff, President & CEO of the Mercy Tiffin Foundation, was unable to attend the event. She prepared a recorded message and read her nomination which read in part: “Dale provided great leadership, particularly during the trying time of building and moving into a new hospital while he was serving as President & CEO of Mercy Tiffin. Included in this leadership was his participation in and support of the fundraising efforts of the Mercy Tiffin Foundation during this time. The support of the top leader of an organization is crucial in raising the needed funds for a project of this size. Not only did he and his wife, Frazene, provide a great example through their personal contribution to name the administrative area in memory of his dear friend, Lt. Colonel Jethro Stansbury, but also through his support of all of the fundraising efforts and events connected to the campaign.
“Additionally, Dale was dedicated to coaching and growing those who worked at his side,” Marsha said. “He took great pleasure in developing the talent and skill of those he worked with to, not only develop their careers, but to continue to move the mission. His leadership and guidance over the years are truly inspiring.”
Past recipients of the Mother Mary Bernardine McMullen Leadership Award include Patty Cole, Richard Wright, John Schultz, Lee Martin, Dr. & Mrs. Anthony Lupica, Gail Shreiner, Kris Klepper, and Mother Mary Bernardine McMullen.
Past recipients of the Mercy Tiffin Foundation Founder’s Award include: Tom Eberly, Mrs. Walter A. Daniel, Dr. Prashant Kothari, Dennis Eberly, The National Machinery Foundation, Lenny & Lynn Clouse, and Mother Mary Anthony McMullen.
Past recipients of the Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award are: Sister Ann Louise Willman, RSM, Sister Marie Catherine Wise, RSM, Peg Shock, The Hanson-Reed-White Family and Bernie Steinmetz.
Awards are based on nominations received. There is no requirement that a winner be recognized annually. This philosophy upholds the integrity and uniqueness of the awards.

All News Items
follow us online
facebook youtube

Contact us
Home  |  Sitemap

Disclaimer & Terms of Use  |  Privacy Statement  |  Notice of Privacy Practices
Copyright ©2016 Mercy. Last modified 6/9/2010